A Courageous People From the Dolomites now online

It has been quite a while since I last posted – I guess getting out in the sunshine and enjoying the fresh air and scenery takes precedence over sitting in front of a screen.

Some of my previous posts suggested using published books to learn about our culture and heritage — Researching Ancestors Through Published Books. I suggested reading “A Courageous People From the Dolomites”, by the late Bonifacio Bolognani. This book is considered the definitive treatise on emigration from Trentino to the United Courageous People from the DolomitesStates. It discusses why our ancestors left Trentino, how they traveled, where they went, their lives in their new country, working in the mines of Colorado, Pennsylvania, and elsewhere. Of particular interest is the mention of many hundreds of names of emigrants to the US.

I also mentioned at times that the book was out of print and sometimes difficult to find. Well, not any more!!!! Thanks to the efforts of many people, and of the Emigration Office of the Province of Trentino, the full text of this book is now online at Courageous People book
Upon clicking to read the book, you will be presented with a small version of the pages — click on the page to see a larger readable version. Additionally, you can print pages of interest, or entire book (if you have about 500 sheets of paper available) or download it to your computer for later reading and reference. Again, I cannot emphasize enough the importance and usefulness of this book in understanding what our ancestors went through. Many many thanks to the Department of Emigration for making this book available to everyone.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Courageous People From the Dolomites now online

  1. Thank you so very much for sharing this information. My daughter and I have been working on our Trentino family genealogy (which goes back centuries in the same village of Santa Croce del Bleggio), and I’m planning a trip there this year, after more than 50 years of wanted to go there. My grandfather, as yours, worked in the coal mines, but in Pennsylvania (they later settled in New York, and then in New Jersey). As I’m almost 60, all the original Tyrolean family is long deceased, and we’re having to piece together family tales from what us aging grandkids can remember…so we can pass it down to our grandchildren. I’d love to connect to see if there are any contacts you can share to aid me in my quest. Thanks again for this great site, and for the link to this BOOK…which I can’t wait to read.

  2. Theresa Zeigler says:

    I still have my copy of the book and have sent this update email to others who don’t have this book. Thanks Sal!
    Theresa Pinamonti Zeigler

  3. M. L. Johnson says:

    I am so excited! I’ve been looking for this book for years. Thank you. However, I did not catch where online this is. I love getting your posts!

Leave a Reply

